Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Global climate change, previously known as global warming, is an imminent threat to life on our planet earth. The colossal problems of pollution and urbanisation have been discussed over the last few decades and we have already begun to experience its consequences, one of them being extinction of plant and animal species.

A well-known example of such animal species is the white tiger. South Asia had a large population of white tigers about a century ago, but now only a few hundreds remain. There are similar statistics for birds and various plants throughout the world. Wildlife silently suffers owing to the manmade catastrophes. While this is a grave issue, there are numerous other challenges that mankind is facing every day.

One of those challenges is urbanisation, which is invading the wooded areas. Hence, animals have no place to live. They end up venturing in cities and that poses a threat to people and animals themselves. Another challenge is the rising water levels all over the globe. Ice, at the north and south poles, is melting away due to unprecedented heat causing the sea level to rise. This is leading to floods in the coast cities every year. Thousands of people are losing their lives, and the rest are left homeless due to the calamity. Recent wildfires in the USA, Amazonian jungles and Australia are also linked to the depleting ozone layer.

Loss of flora and fauna is one of the endless lists of tragedies that mankind faces today. I believe it is crucial that we start caring for our environment if we want to give our future generations a safe and happy planet to live.