Some people believe that it is good to share as much as information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Every country wants to have international cooperation with others to accomplish a win-win project. Nowadays a discussion over whether countries should share as much information as possible or some information cannot be shared because of their importance has been triggered. In my opinion, sharing useful information is the foundation for a successful cooperation, but the choice of the information is also very important.

Some claim that the more information a country shares, the more choices it provides for other countries so that others could pick up some and cooperates with it. What should be emphasized firstly is that countries sharing their information is to get more valuable things. Because it is human nature that people chase profits, so there is no reason for a country to share their information for free. From that we can conclude that the statement only comes true when all countries signed a contract that every participating country should share its information selflessly, and there should be an international institution acting as supervisor to see if any country hides some important technologies. So, the choice of information becomes vital for a country.

Firstly, the choice of information is related with what they would like to harvest from the cooperation. Every country has specific talents and demands, what the government should do is to clearly specify the demands of the country. To be more specific, the sharing of information is to satisfy its requirements, which is like buy something with information. For instance, what Japanese the most needed was the delicate equipment that can predict the earthquake that frequently occurs and recommend some places for people to hide. So, if Japanese government wants to share information, they should find countries that can satisfy their demands.

After selecting target country, the government should make sure that the shared information should trigger interests from other countries. Win-win project means every country gets benefits from the trade, so the government should provide some advanced information as well. Take China as an example, the construction of railroads is one of the most famous advanced Chinese technologies. Chinese has constructed railroads all over their motherland, trains could pass through snow mountain and beneath the bottom of ocean, which attracts many countries. So the construction methods can be shared to others if Chinese government wants to cooperate.

In conclusion, the sharing of information can promote universal cooperation, however, the choice of information to be shared should be considered according to country’s demands and whether their information is appealing.