Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

It is more important for the government to spend money on new buildings than to preserve historic or traditional buildings and homes.

Buildings have been more and more valued and even triggered a heated discussion over whether the government should construct new buildings or preserve old homes. In my opinion, the construction of new architecture is more important because new buildings are safer and can enhance the utilization rate of the same land.

Some claim that the government should spend money saving and updating traditional buildings because they represent the history of the city, and citizens are familiar with them. However, compared with unsafe and useless historic homes, only traditional buildings such as the Forbidden City can on behalf of the cultural history of a city, which are very rare. So I believe it is more vital for the government to spend money on creating new architectures so that enormous citizens can benefit from them.

Firstly, constructing new buildings can guarantee the safety of residents. Historic buildings have been used for decades, its concrete structure can be calcified, so that the foundation can be fragile. Meanwhile, many old buildings are not equipped with an emergency exit path, which can be very dangerous when encountered accidents like fire or earthquake. For instance, about last year, a woman lived on the eighth floor of a residential building constructed in forty years ago fell to her death when she was drying clothes on the balcony, the balcony collapsed as well. After research, it came out that the structure of the balcony aged so seriously that it could not stand with strong winds and weight. There are so many similar historic buildings in the world, and the government cannot afford to repair all of them. So, it is better to construct strong and robust new buildings to prevent such events from occurring.

Meanwhile, building new architectures in the same land can enhance the utilization rate. It is universal that the number of layers is limited in old buildings because of the lack of elevators. As the development of urbanization and the increase of population, original buildings cannot provide enough space for citizens. To be more specific, I used to live in a small community whose buildings are of five floors and all rooms are occupied. When population increased, people separate their house into several rooms to accommodate more people, we all lived a hard life. Then the government constructed new buildings for us on the same land, but of twenty floors, we did not to bear the small space anymore. By doing so, the government increase the using of the same land and win the embrace of thousands of residentials.

In conclusion, constructing new architectures are more important for the government, for they can guarantee the safety of citizens and increase the utilization rate of the same land, which will benefit both the government and citizens.