Modern agriculture methods damage the environment, but providing food for the growing population around the world is more important than protecting the environment.

Environmental and food quality are two important issues that people keep focusing on, nowadays a new discussion over whether using harmful agricultural ways to provide food or protect the land is more significant. In my opinion, I believe the guaranteeing that the environment is in a balanced state is more vital because without it, people’s food quality would be decreased more seriously.

Firstly, polluted soil could make crops toxic for people, which could threat their lives. Misusing pesticides is one of the most harmful agricultural pollution, with the development of various of pesticides, farmers blindly used amount of them to kill worms, which could lead to the contamination to soils beneath their farmlands. According to the newest record from the Peking University, because of the misusing of various of pesticides, soils beneath most of farmlands contain five times chemical heavy metal elements that cannot be digested by humans more than they should. From the report we can conclude that if we let go agricultural contamination, there would be no safeguards for people’s meals, and those toxic elements could make people be sick and even threats to their lives. There are many examples in arid places where arable soils are much less than other places. With the irrigation of pesticides, those soils always contain even more toxic elements which could be transferred to crops. So people living on there tend to lost their hairs and may be dizzy if they eat too much.

Meanwhile, contaminated soil can reduce the fertility of lands, people will not have enough food. Another serious pollution is due to over-planting. People’s population has been increasing for many years, and to satisfy the demands of food for more people, farmers do not obey natural conventions, instead, they increase their frequency of harvest and choose farmlands randomly as long as seeds can survive. Such behaviors exhaust arable soils and beneath water near farming places, more and more farms’ production is declining, so if people refuse to think for their future, there would be no fertile places anymore, and their food would not be enough. For example, in many developing countries, people regarded food as the most vital resource, so they blindly planted crops all over their country. As people finally realized their farmlands could not feed them anymore, they could only import food and their developments were paused.

In conclusion, preventing the environment from agricultural pollution is more important because it ensures the both the safety of people’s food and the production of farmer’s crops in the long run.