Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship has been more and more valued and many standards to adjust friends have been proposed. Nowadays a new discussion over whether few friends over long time can make people happier or many friends made easily can has been triggered. In my opinion, small number of friends that people spend long time with are more valuable because they know each other well and time spent to sustain their relationship will not be much.

Some claim that more friends mean more happiness, and people can share their emotions with more people to get more comfort. However, uncertainty exists in this statement. People cannot guarantee every friend they made with short time could get along with them, they might have grown up from opposite backgrounds and have totally different opinions towards many things. That is why I insist that only long period can testify friendships.

Firstly, people can feel understood by friends over long time because they totally know each other, which can please people. With long time spent together, people realize each other, they know their hobbies and what they could be worried about. People can say anything they like to their friends, and they can always receive active responds. For instance, I have been having few friends since senior high school, we have known each other for more than ten years. During those years, every time I felt upset, I would turn to them for comfort. What impressed me the most was when I met them after the failure of my final exam. After the first glance of my face, they told me to forget about it and focus on the future. I asked them if they know what bothered me, and they said they could read my thoughts through my expressions. They gave me confidence to go through difficulties and let me know that I was understood under whatever situation.

Moreover, few friends mean less time needed to sustain friendship. People who have many friends can be easily tired when they have to spend the whole weekends socializing with many friends they are not familiar with. For instance, my roommate has so many friends that he could barely remember all their names. Every weekend, he got up earlier than other week days and go out to meet with others. They usually went to bars to have conversations over some topics that had nothing to do with his daily life. Their activity lasted for the whole day until midnight, he came back more tired than going to work. He has complained about it for many times. He realized what he kept doing were all useless socializing.

In conclusion, few friends over long time can make people happier because people understand each other and can say almost everything to them to have comfort, and people do not need to spend too much time on sustaining with them.