Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Ability of acquiring information has been more and more emphasized, nowadays a discussion over whether people should learn about universal news that irrelevant with their daily life. In my opinion, such events can be regarded as conversation contents with people to activate atmosphere and those events can be potentially useful.

Some claim that reading such information is a waste of their time because they cannot receive any practical payback. It is true that those events cannot bring anything to readers in the short term, however, they could be regarded as refreshing discussion topics that help people escape from their boring daily routine and help adjust their emotions, and might be important for them to make choices in the long run.

Firstly, people can have more topics to communicate if they learn about such relevant news. To be more specific, people are always interested in strange fields, especially for those stressful working adults who like talking about unfamiliar events that can help them escape from their tiring routine. For instance, several months ago there was an event that a spacecraft was launched towards the Mars by Tesla. This piece of news has nothing to do with my parents who are both Chinese teachers, however, they have kept talking about this issue for weeks during our dinner. They talked about possibility of human beings living in other planets in the future, and their imagination about travelling through nebulas and galaxies was so romantic that can helped them forget about their daily life for seconds, refreshing them to meet future challenges.

Meanwhile, such information might be useful in the long run. News about political changes from other countries can be significant in the future, though they seem like totally irrelevant at present. Take myself as an example, last year I read from newspaper that England had extended the resident period for foreign students and their working opportunities were increased, I did not care much because I used to determine to study in my motherland. However, half year past, I was given the chance to choose different countries to conduct my final year project. At that moment, the news I have seen before came through my mind and reminded me that I could study longer in England and even find a practical internship. Then I made the important decision easily with the help of the information I thought was useless before.

In conclusion, international news should also be emphasized, because they can both increase the topic of relaxing conversation and might be vital for people in their future.