Some people believe that prison is not an effective method of reducing crime, while others feel it helps to stop criminals from re-offending.

Discuss both views, and present your opinion.

Prison is a widely-recognized technique of cutting crime in many countries. Lots of people claim that putting criminals behind bars isn’t a very efficient method; while on the other hand, there are clearly some advantages.

Many argue that jail is an act of “pouring money down the drain” because it’s mostly government-funded, which means that while Incarcerated, convicts will receive three hots and a cot, that was paid by the tax of working class people. Another weakness of prison is that it enables criminals to interact with each other. For instance, they will be influenced by different atrocious ideas and might become more professional criminals when they got released.

Despite these negatives effects, prison can stop lawbreakers from committing crime, this helps improving living conditions. Moreover, it can be used as a scare tactic to deters to future criminals. If children acknowledge the fact that crime does not pay, this will lessen their potential of becoming a villain. Needless to say, it is better to keeps outlaws locked up and monitored rather than letting them freely violate every single rule out there. In addition, the idea of prison is simple and easy to adapt to most communities.

In conclusion, there can be no doubt that there are strengths and weaknesses to this concept; however, it is obvious that prison reduces criminal activity in various crime-ridden countries. Its efficiency and ease of use has helped youngsters and adults to sleep better on their bed with less worries. Therefore, I think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.