Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reading books is conventionally believed to be more educational and entertaining for children compared to playing games on computers and gluing their eyes to their favorite TV show. From my perspective, I completely agree with this and believe that books offer a wide range of advantages that can never be found in cartoons and games.

First and foremost, no one can deny the fantastic values books provide to children that computer games and television programmes lack of. Unlike animated movies shown on TV, where all the images of the characters and their actions are completely displayed on the screen, books hide them under an array of printed words on pages. This lets children cognitively construct the picture of the scene through reading those pages and thus, stimulates their comprehension and imagination. Besides, frequent reading also enhances children's critical thinking skills. Since some subsequent incidents of the story characters may not be mentioned in the book, this allows adolescents to contemplate and make inferences about them.

Apart from benefiting their cognitive abilities, consistent reading is the key to better academic performance. First, books has been long ago referred as the main source of vocabularies for children which thus, develop their writing skills and eventually, language skills. To illustrate this, it has been reported that majority of pupils who do excellently in language subjects said to devote most of their time reading stories. Furthermore, spending time on books also improves students' concentration and memory, the two most essential classroom skills which leads to them being able to have a more comprehensive understand of what is being taught in their lessons.

To sum up, nothing can substitute reading story books as a hobby even the prevalent computer games or most interesting TV show for their benefits at every turn. Hence, I believe that students should spare more time reading rather than squandering it on gaming or useless cartoons.