Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At childen’s age, we tend to be impressionable by various types of recreation. Therefore, there is an emphasis on the selection of materials. Many parents do believe that story reading is much better for children’s development rather than TV programmes and computer games. I advocate this idea and I would state my position below.

In the first place, book’s publications yield moral values for the sake of youngsters. Every book has to go through multiple processes of censorship and edition before coming to the hand of readers. Then, it will be subject to parents’ consideration, ensuring their child can receive the best materials. For example, a renowned book like “Snow White and the seven Dwafts” has been a bedside book of all generations, lingering in our mind the lesson that good people will earn what they deserve. It is of flat contradiction compared with video games, which bring nothing but entertainment and addiction.

Second of all, playing video games and watching TV too much are believed to do harm to youngster’s physical and mental health. Eyestrain and constant tiredness result in children’s low academic reports. Their mind can also be overloaded with cartoon characters, virtual weapons,.., which causes them to be low on the uptake at school. Some also play truant in order to do what they prefer, playing games to be specific. While these demerits certainly get on parents’ nerves, a lucrative choice should be books and stories, which nourish their offsprings’ mind rather than spoil them.

To sum up, moral merits and health guarantee are the things that emphasizes the upside of reading stories from books. Parents should be thorough enough to shape up a logical and beneficial range of books for their children.