Some people believe that schools should only teach children subjects which are beneficial to their future career and therefore others subjects such as music and sports are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that only subjects which benefit children’s future career should be contained in schools’ curriculums. While I agree these subjects should be given high priority, I would argue that it is also necessary to teach music and sports in schools.

To begin with, there are several reasons why children should spend most of their time in schools to learn core subjects such as mathematics and foreign languages. First, because of the increasingly fierce competition in the labour market, children need to focus on subjects which could help them meet their career goals. For example, learning maths could improve some vital job-related skills namely critical thinking and problem-solving. If students neglect these subjects, they might find it difficult to get jobs in the future. Second, since the trend of globalization brings about opportunities for international jobs, children are required to put a great deal of effort into learning foreign languages, aiming to integrate into the global labour market.

However, I believe that schools should also teach music and sports because of some advantages. The first benefit is that learning music is an effective method to improve children’s memory and other cognitive functions. Meanwhile, playing sports not only promote better health but also improve children’s social skills. As the results, music, and sports significantly contribute to well-balanced development of children. Additionally, since children have the chance to be early in contact with music and sports, some of them would be distinguished as outstanding talents, which gives them more time to practice to become successful.

In conclusion, while teaching subjects which are beneficial to children’s future career is prioritized, music and sports also worth being taught because they play an important role in children's development.