Some people believe that spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the tendency to send each other messages and e-mails is becoming popular. Hence, it is often argued if spoken or written communication is more favorable. As for me, conversation by messages is convenient, because you have enough time to think about text and check it.

Firstly, if people use written communication, they have the opportunity to ponder thoroughly the information in the letter. Some people, typically, feel discomfort when they see the interlocutor. They can confuse or forget information and show themselves as a not smart person. Therefore, certain people are more confident, when they have time to check their messages and after all they send it to somebody. Besides, some social media give the chance to change or delete messages. Thus, the method to write letters is more convenient to compare with spoken conversation, which implies spontaneous speech. For example, according to the research of British sociologists more than 65 percent of people feel confidence if they communicate with messages.

Secondly, written communication is useful in international conversation. Sometimes, people, who have business with companies and partners from other countries, do not meet or call by Skype owing to different time zones. They can send emails, therefore, and ask about meetings or continue to solve the problems using messages. In addition, It regards situations when people travel in other countries and they are not able to phone relatives or colleges due to absence of internet or mobile connection, in this case they are forced to use emails. For instance, the survey of travel companies showed that less than 10 percent of people call their relatives during a trip in contrast to 70 percent who send messages and 20 percent who do not connect with anyone.

In conclusion, I can say that some people prefer to use written communication for many reasons, but spoken conversation continues to be comfortable for other people. To my mind, communication with letters has benefits in different cases.