Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while other feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

Most people believe that sport should be compulsory for school children. However, others opposing it. there are valid opinions on both sides, which I will consider now.

one the one hand, those who support the idea that sport as essential part in school life see that it has major benefits for children’s physical development. For instance, sport could make children relax after their spent some time for studying. Furthermore, the proponent of school sport emphasize the important of team building in sport such as football or hockey, which is often felt to be an excellent preparation for adulthood. finally, many people feel that a competitive spirit, so important today, is fostered by sports at an early age. it is notable, for example that many successful business people excelled in sport at school.

On the other hand, proponent of this view feel that school sport uses up children’s time, and it should be better spent on academic subjects such as exam preparation. In addition, those who decline the idea see that it is unwise to force children to do activities that they have no interest in. after all, some youngsters are just not sporty, and should be allowed to study instead. finally, there are question mark over the wholesomeness of sport itself, with drugging and corruption scandals increasingly common, as we see in cycling at present. some people believe that this lack of morals sets a poor example to young people.

Overall, it seem to me that sport should be not compulsory for school children, because the negative effect on their time outweighs the positive. this is as long as children are given a wide range to choose from, to ensure their interest is high, and that the sport industry itself maintains the highest standards of conduct.