Some people believe that sport has an important role in society. Others , howevers, feel that it is nothing more than a leisure activity for some people. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

There are many different views about the role of sports in our life. Many people believe that sports play a great role in society while others think that it seems a kind of spare time activity. There are valid opinions on both sides which I will consider now.

On the one hand, there are several advantages which make us believe that sports are so important to society. Firstly, sports are crucial for mental and physical health of a person. It helps a player reach a fitness goal and keep up a heathy weigh. Exercising is also a natural way to loosen up and let go of stress. As a result, physically and mentally strong people can contribute the development the nation by increasing the economic productivity. Moreover, doing exercises regularly can prevent some dangerous diseases like cancer and obesity which can reduce the heavy on government’s budget. Secondly, players can improve their teamwork skills. Joining in team sport and fighting for a common goal with a group of players and coaches teach the participants how to build teamwork and effectively communicate to solve problems. This experience is helpful when encountering problems at work or at home. Besides that, international sports competition can promote better relations between countries, create favorable conditions for economic development in the era of globalization.

However, there are contrast ideas that sports are only recreational activities in their free time. Many persons spend all their time for working and their housework. Thus they do exercises or playing sports when they have free time to refresh their body and mind. For instance, parents and their children are able to go swimming together in their leisure time to relax and take more interaction. Moreover, there are few people can play sports as a professional and earn money primarily from sports. Hence, sports are likely entertainment activities in their leisure time.

In conclusion, while some people think sports are the same as leisure activity, I still believe that sports play a great role to society because of its advantages to people.