Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the phenomenon of crime all around the world and its corresponding impacts have sparked a massive dispute. In this regard, apart from several advantages of applying fixed punishments for all crimes, other people are of the opinion that judges should consider such issues as the circumstances and motivations as they decide on punishments. In my mind, law-makers shouldn’t take no notice of crimes’ conditions as well as motivations.

Obviously, circumstances under which a crime take place are one of most contributing factors. For instance, if a person steals a loaf because of merely his or her hunger, these types of unfair conditions must be taken into consideration during justification process. This approach paves the way to prevent these types of criminal actions to be committed.

In addition, whereas we shouldn’t lose sight of circumstances of an individual crime, incentives of a crime should play a crucial part in punishment determination. A crime as simple as pocket robbery, however, may conceal huge backstage schemes such as a sinister plan for assassination of a prominent politician. Hence, officials need to come up with novel strategies, not just on investigation policies of criminal’s motivations, but also about devising appropriate punishments based on their intents.

On the other hand, loads of individuals maintain that a fixed punishment, regardless of the crime type, is far better approach. They claim, it is likely that if a man commits a crime, it will be re-committed by him in not distant future. Consequently, the society must shut down the possibility of the crime reoccurrence via a fixed, albeit heavy, punishment. Moreover, the legislation process along with judgment will be far more convenient due to pursuing a fixed punishment strategy.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I opt vigorously to support the idea that a variable punishment approach which stem from incentives and circumstances far outweigh a fixed punishment strategy. Imagine, a little boy put into jail for around, say 2 years, thanks to breaking a window while he was playing on the alley.