Some people believe that unpaid community service be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children)To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As social practice is becoming an important part of teenagers, while some argue that it should be a must for high school students to attend community activities without pay, i tend to hold a different opinion.

It is commonly acknowledged that everyone is responsible for the development of their community, therefore high school programmes should also take this as compulsory. Some claim that this arrangement could be a good chance for them to attend social practice and to build connections with community members. Furthermore, it is a practical supplement to their in-school events.

However, in my opinion, the first and foremost duty of high school students is to exert efforts on school subjects in order to prepare for the university study and for their future development. The precious time should be spent on learning knowledge and developing interest in various fields.

In addition, none of them should be forced to do any unsalaried work in their early stage, because this might convey a misunderstanding that they do not have to work for money. Take my nephew for example, he was used to offering help to neighbors for free and asked for money for school fees from his parents. And it really shocked me when he said to me that salary is not important at all as he was looking for a temporary job for summer vocation.

To conclude, despite some positives of attending community services, i assert that it would be wrong to force high school students to participate no-pay activities.