Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to young children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the last few years new ideas and believes arose around the improving the society and reinforcing relationships among citizens. People have divergent opinions about potential benefits of introduction compulsory programs to schools, including charity works, social activities and teaching the youngsters by students. Observing all advantages and disadvantages, I reckon, that the idea is more beneficial than negatively influential.

One reason for that could be that proposing the unpaid services amid students would become the first step to development well-mannered citizens from them. It is saddenly to say, but today’s generation underestimates the importance of charity works and neighborhood facilities. So, the introduction of programs, courses and parties in high school education would be likely to lead our country to modern, civilized and loving community.

Another reason might be the lack of age group communications among citizens nowadays. And the propaganda flow with social activities and charity work will probably increase its level. This can be seen in the way that high graduate students could become a role model for younger ones, teaching them some new skills and watching their own code of conduct. Cleaning and decorating streets for New Year and Cristmas, certainly not affecting their dignity, might also reinforce neighbors’ relationship.

Of course, those who say that students must not be obliged to do unpaid community activities are quite correct. The idea that these types of work will be introduce to high schools on the compulsory basis does not sound good for me. As students are overloaded with already existed compulsory subjects and it could just distract them from their main aim. Moreover, because students could be encouraged to carry out the charity and uncharity works by other methods. For instance, today at several schools there are volunteer groups with people who want to help community and nature out of good will and intentions, so their amount could be just doubled several times in each school and university.

In conclusion, I would like to point, despite all disadvantages, the trend of proposing unpaid services among schools is rather positive from my view, but only on volunteer basis.