Some people claim that not enough of waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.

It is socially agreed that domestic waste management is not properly done, therefore the law enforcement agents should toughen the regulations. This essay suggests that motivation is needed for people to do recycling, and not, enforcing laws. Different measures apart from regulations will be discussed, as well as benefits of putting laws will be highlighted to a lesser extent.

The greatest motivator for citizens is an incentive after task achievement. It can be offered through cash or in kind. Each year world environmental day is held globally. This is the time which can be used to award those who were successful in recycling household items. For instance, during the course of the year points can be accumulated depending on number of items brought for recycling. Environmental management agency can assist with the process.

Furthermore, knowledge is power. People need to be educated about the benefits of recycling. This can be attained through holding workshops at workplace or adverts on television or radio. School children also be taught in poems or songs which they grasp briskly, as it is everyone's duty to practise recycling.

However, to a certain extent laws have to be toughened for maximum co-operation from the citizens. For example, there are some people who are ignorant, despite being knowledgeable. Therefore a slight punishment will result in adherence to recycling.

In conclusion, educating the members of the public enhance maximum recycling because people will have the knowledge and the skill on how to do it. There are some citizens who do a thing because they have been informed, but without data they are reluctant to co-operate. No law can encourage people to recycle than awareness campaigns.