Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Humans as a species have come a long way from their humble beginnings. To say that right now we are at the pinnacle of advancement wouldn’t be an exaggeration. We have achieved a lot, from antibiotics to prosthetics that enables people to live their finest lives. But everything isn’t perfect. This story of unimaginable advancements and glory has its dark side. Now that humans are living longer than ever and world’s population is at an all-time high, we are producing waste at an unprecedented levels.

The waste ranges from the plastic packaging to the left-over food. This waste, when not recycled properly, causes horrendous impact on the environment. Many a countries are suffering from this menace already. There’s an unthinkable amount of plastic in our water bodies and chemicals in our water bodies. In India the once holy river of Ganges is now littered with plastic bottles, bags and harmful chemicals. The oceans are suffering too as is evident by the travelogue of a man who sailed from California to Hawaii. In his 30 days journey the sailor saw stray plastic products in the wide open ocean almost every day.

There have been many propositions put forward by the scientists on how to curb this problem. The most reasonable and practical one is recycling. To achieve this we need public education on a massive scale. Second thing we need is the enforcement of the law. The government should take more action to punish those responsible for polluting our mother earth. At the same time people and companies who try to recycle should be rewarded. It should be the prime responsibility of the government to promote a positive environment for the reduction of waste and improved recycling for the betterment of our future.