Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled.

They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

A controversy has arisen over the issue of whether legislation is the only solution to enhance recycling or not. In spite of arguments underestimating the pivot role of other methods, I would contend that both laws and other motivations are warranted to accelerate the prevalent of recycling.

First of all, it is an irrefutable fact that force would lead to more compliance. Through this, not only does the government observe people’s activities legally, but it also is entitled to punish them due to disobedience. In this situation people would be more determined to separate the litter. Fear, nonetheless is chief among all reasons impelling them to take an environmental-friendly approach. Thus, extreme laws would eventually lead to alienation from government and following a rule with no knowledge which is a detrimental result. To mediate the strictness of this matter other methods are required.

Alternatives such as advertising and financial supports can be effective as well as resulting a paradigm shift in society’s understanding. If people was informed about the importance of recycling through different shapes of media such as TV, newspapers, and radio, they would be more inclined to contribute to it deliberately. Further, government can accelerate this process by offering monetary incentives to families doing activities on behalf of recycling, taking their bottles to be recycled, for instance.

By way of conclusion, enacting new legislation can be firmly considered as a method associated with revolutionizing recycling. Meanwhile, other alternatives such as financial incentives and advertisement can increase the pace as well as giving people motivations.