Some people feel that there is too much emphasis on getting an education, and that governments should spend money on leisure time activities for young people too. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The importance of education has recognised by everyone around the globe where the growth in students achieving in their tertiary education have been increasing yearly. Policymakers have been actively supporting and encouraging students using government funding in education sponsorship but lack of focus on providing leisure time activities for youngsters. I firmly believe that government funding in leisure time activities can benefits our younger generation.

First and foremost, leisure time activities such as sports can help individuals achieve their an active and balanced lifestyles. Recent emphasism on education has increase the stress levels of students and resulting in psychological problems with youngsters today. Government can take this advantage to promote healthy sports to younger generation such as badminton or swimming. In addition, this can be a great platform to interest and engage youngsters to improve other skills that they possess. Study done by University of Singapore on 20 countries showed that 75% of youngsters in high school commented that swimming event organized by Ministry of Education last year trigger their interest in sporting events.

Secondly, exposing youngsters to other activities also can drive the change in behaviour and their social skills. Obtaining ideal behaviour and social skills are important to shape the current society towards a healthy and safe environment. It can assist in reducing teens from getting involved in unhealthy and illegal activities which is the optimal aim of policymakers. Besides that, youngsters can also volunteer in events where they can contribute and return to the society. Recent "Help and Laugh" event organized by Ministry of Education in old folk homes gives youngsters' understanding in caring and learning from the older generation.

In conclusion, policymakers can be a powerful catalyst to trigger changes in our current society. There is no doubt that education can contributes the recognition and status of the countries but having time for other activities can also bring advantages to everyone.