Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that there are conflicting views about the lifestyle of youngsters. While a number of people believe that it is necessary to follow traditions of cultures, I would argue that youth should be free to make their own choice.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons to support the idea that the young generation should continue to uphold traditional customs. First, since customs play a key role in embracing social identity, young people have the responsibility to preserve their conventional traditions. This might be explained by the fact that the traditional customs comprise the practices and principles which have been put together by the past generation. As a result, it reflects society’s long-standing values and standards. Second, by adhering to the established customs, young people will have a secure foundation for their own future. This means that previous generations were able to flourish in the past, people in this day and age only need to follow these traditions to save themselves from unnecessary error and trial in life.

On the other hand, I would be inclined to argue against this as I believe the reasons to support the young’s decisions in having their own ways of life are also significant. To begin with, some of the cultures are obsolete or even oppressive in the modern world. For instance, the gender imbalance and misogyny in Viet Nam have been eradicated owing to women’s growing awareness and demands for freedom and respect. Furthermore, it is undeniable that every generation wants to express themselves freely, and the young generation should be no exception. By making use of their energy and youth, they can have opportunities to make their mark in history.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is better for the young to highlight themselves freely.