Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that young people should stick to their society's customs. Others, however, think that children and teenagers should be allowed to act independently. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to why I am more inclined towards the latter.

On one hand, it is vital for youngsters to maintain our different cultural identities since traditional customs are still important in some big events such as during weddings and religious festivals. Take the Tet holiday in Vietnam, for example, women will wear the unique, traditional dress, ao dai, when going outside in order to preserve and promote the beauty of the nation's costume. Furthermore, by following traditions, the youth can greatly benefit from the wisdom and insight of past generations. As such, they can save themselves unnecessary trial and error in life that would cost them time and energy.

On the other hand, I believe that young people have certain rights to behave as free individuals. They should not be held back from the advances in technology because it brings a lot of benefits for the youth such as the ability to learn anything they like or the relationship with a wide range of people from different parts of the world. Products are cheaper due to industrialization so it is easier for teenagers to buy the items they want. Another reason is that young individuals are more creative and tend to think outside the box, as a result, they can create some beautiful yet strange sculptures or buildings that will help the country attract more tourists.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that while youngsters need to preserve all that is worthwhile from the past, it is still crucial to embrace change and let them become independent citizens.