Some people prefer to live in small family units, while others think it is better to live in large family groups. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different opinions about the ideal size of a family. While some people claim that living in an extended family can bring about several advantages, I believe a smaller one would be a better option.

On the one hand, people can gain some benefits from living in a big family. Firstly, due to daily activities such as cooking or having meals, people can pass on their traditional values from generation to generation. For example, grandmothers often heirloom recipes with their daughters and nieces. As a result, this will help strengthen connections among members. Secondly, household chores can be done in a much faster and easier way. For example, a person is sweeping the floor while others are hanging clothes or watering plants. Consequently, they might have more time for relaxation.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why people prefer a small family. The first one is that it allows these people to freely make their own decisions about their life. For instance, some men often stay up late to watch football matches and make noise without the older’s judgment or complaints. Therefore, it might allow people to experience less chances of conflicts. Furthermore, children who live in this family type might receive more attention from their parents. For example, mothers can help their children with school materials. Consequently, their offspring are likely to be given proper education. If people choose to live in an extended family, the parents will not have enough time and money to invest in each of their children.

In conclusion, a big family can allow people to do housework more easily and share their family values. However, I think it is better to live in a nuclear family due to the fact that they can have more freedom and take care of others.