Some people do not go directly to college after high school but travel or work for a short time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, there are an increasing number of students spending a certain amount of time traveling or doing jobs instead of entering colleges after graduating from high school. While this trend can bring about some minus points, in my opinion, its positive sides are more significant.

On the one hand, the fact that students invest time in their interests such as traveling or working after high school has many negative aspects. One of the primary drawbacks is that due to the familiarity with their current habits, they might have difficulty in getting back to an academic schedule. Consequently, they often lose motivation towards the study, which contributes to their poor academic performance. Moreover, these individuals might suffer from peer pressure. To illustrate, students who attend colleges later as opposed to their fellows are likely to start their careers later. These young individuals seem to be afraid of being inferior to their friends.

On the other hand, there are several advantages of taking a break from classroom learning after high school. Firstly, these young individuals might gain knowledge and experience associated with the places they visit or the jobs they do. As a result, they can discover their interests for career, which assists in choosing college or university to enroll in. For example, when traveling to mountainous areas, these students are interested in the local cultural practices; therefore, they might choose to study tourism at university. Secondly, highschool graduates can earn an amount of money from working; it can be used for paying tuition fees and accommodation when they enter universities. Finally, students can acquire some basic soft skills from working or traveling such as communication skills or time management skills, which are necessary for their future and future career.

In conclusion, allocating time to travel and work before studying in colleges can make students suffer from peer pressure and find it hard to start studying again. However, I believe the advantages are greater, as this trend can assist highschool graduates in broadening their horizons, acquiring skills and raising their income.