Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people claim that following news is meaningless since there is no relationship between news and our lives. Personally, I strongly disagree with this opinion because of several reasons which will be explained in this essay.

On the one hand, news brings about some benefits. Firstly, because news offers humans a source of the latest information, it allows people to gain a comprehensive overview of everyday problems. In other words, following news helps us to be up-to-date. For example, businessmen often see the current points of the stock market or the shares of different companies so that they can make wise decisions about their business’s plan. Secondly, news can be considered as a source of entertainment. In fact, reading or watching their favorite news categories as a hobby can help people relax. To illustrate, women are usually interested in receiving information about the fashion trends.

However, some people hold the view that news is irrelevant to them so following news is a waste of time. Although the core of this claim is valid, it suffers from a flaw in its reasoning. Firstly, while some news such as international politics are not likely to link to local people, it can be helpful to others such as the government. Secondly, because there are many different categories of news such as lifestyle or sports, people can choose their favorite topics to follow, which is meaningful. Therefore, news is useful and has a strong connection with people’s lives.

In conclusion, I believe that news plays an important part in human’s lives because it acts as a source of the latest information and entertainment.