Some say that news has no connection with most people’s life and it is a waste of time for most of us to read newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that news is not linked to one’s daily life, and therefore attention should not be paid to newspapers or news channels on television. Personally, I partly agree with this idea, because while certain kinds of news are useless, there are also crucial pieces of news worth following.

On the one hand, several categories of news are simply a waste of time. The first one is updates about celebrities’ life stories, such as who they are dating or where they are spending their holidays. Although these kinds of information do not bring any values to a person, sadly, many young individuals spend more time following them than they should. Additionally, the audience tends to be attracted to shocking stories happening around the world, such as brutal murders or tragic accidents. These stories are irrelevant to people’s lives, and I believe they do not deserve to be given coverage in the press.

Nevertheless, some pieces of information could be necessary. Firstly, people need to be aware of the serious issues currently taking place in their local area. For instance, residents need to be informed of new contagious diseases or rising cases of crime where they live, which helps them find ways to protect themselves and their families. Secondly, a person should also follow news and updates related to their profession. For example, doctors have to keep track of the latest innovations in medicines or cures for health issues. Thus, these pieces of news are essential and should receive attention.

In conclusion, although news about famous people or shocking incidents in other parts of the globe can be considered time-wasting, other updates related to one’s career and problems in their local area are vital. In my view, people should be selective about which news to follow when they read newspapers or watch television.