Some people prefer to work for a big company instead of a small,family-run,business. What are the advantages and disadvantages ?

It is widely acknowledged that job workers have a tendency to work in a large industry rather than working on a small-scale or family company. From my perspective, while laboring for a huge industry as opposed to a small company can be beneficial, the drawbacks of this should be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why working for a large company can be beneficial, the most significant of which are career development and learning from the best people. With regard to the former, formal training programs are often readily available in large companies, meaning there are more opportunities to develop and grow. For example, google company has an online learning platform that makes it easy for employees to improve any chosen skill. When it comes to the latter, a larger company means a larger pool of talent, and big companies typically attract the best of the best. For instance, working with excellent people result in having the opportunity to gain plenty of professional skill from them.

On the other hand, laboring in a big industry can have some demerits, associated with more bureaucracy and stiff competition. When it comes to the first idea, this is the other side of the coin when demanding well-defined honesty. For instance, more and more staff have stolen money from the company with the aim of individual purposes. As far as the second point is concerned, the big company is the place where staff are ready to combat for their promote position. For example, It’s not uncommon to witness staff who is willing to do the mountain of projects with the aim of having an opportunity to promote.

In conclusion, I am inclined to believe that despite the positive effects that working in a vast company can exert, the negative implications should not be underestimated.