Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Over the past decades, the advertisement has never failed to draw public attention and provoke debate. Although it is one of the good ways to get familiar with new products, the issue as to whether the marketing of products glamorous for people to purchase is in remains controversial. The following essay takes a look at both sides of the argument.

On the other hand, whilst it is unarguable that the persuasive intent of advertisements can encourage people to buy more items than they really need. However, companies generally promulgate only its brighter side, thus providing an incomplete picture of the product. Herbal products and weight loss supplements are particular examples. According to recent research, the use of herbal products to weigh loss has seen a significant increase whereas health experts are showed that weight can only be controlled through proper diet and exercise.

On the other hand, individuals tend to buy more than required, especially when the imaginary images are so colorful and vividly projected like it is done in today's media. Additionally, advertising on relevant websites is an efficient way of raising customer awareness of your business. For instance, the younger love buying things online, which can save time and some money on travel, are constantly looking for a good online store, that has got wide a range of products and quick delivery.

In conclusion, I tend to agree that there are more advantages of marketing and advertisement if being used in the right direction of public awareness and safety, than their drawbacks.