Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays advertising is view by society with two different lens. While some people believe that advertisements can made us buy things that we really do not have necessity, others think that advertising is a good way to show the news about products that may improve our daily life. Both sides of view have their reasons however, in my opinion advertisements stimulate excessively the consumer culture and I will explore this thinking in the following essay.

Firstly and foremost, we can clearly notice that advertising generally promises importance or values that we believe that we need to have, but in the most cases, it is only a marketing play. For example, in the middle of the 20th century, advertisements about cigarettes was common in the society and showed how glamorous and modern were people who smoked at time. What we can see from this is that advertising was only selling a product without have its hazards presented to the population. At time goes by, we found how dangerous could be the cigarettes.

Even though advertising tell us about new products that could get better our lives, sometimes they exceed in the real meaning of the products that might represent just a fashion during a time and this is easily seen through children and adolescents. Many advertisements focus on this age range because they do not have yet a critical thinking about the products and usually the advertisers make children and adolescents believe that they really need some toy or game to they feel belonging of their groups.

Concluding, advertisements have its importance, but I strongly believe that they have to be controlled, because several times its encourage the consumer culture and do not represent a really need that we have.