Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it Discuss both view and give your opinion

In modern society, advertising has become a mature industry. While some people argue that advertisements have a great impact on consumers' purchasing behaviors, others believe that they are ignored by people because they are too common. In my opinion, although advertising has less impact nowadays, it still plays an important role in persuading us to buy items.

Advertising shows its power of affecting consumers' behaviors in serval ways. First, the advertisement is often featured by famous celebrities, who have a large group of fans. As a result, fans tend to buy products endorsed by their idols irrationally, boosting the sales of these products. In addition, advertising companies often link their products with some characteristics, such as cool, sexy, and handsome. These advertisements make people form a stereotype about the products and want to buy these products in order to show they have similar characteristics. Moreover, the advertisements boost sales by making use of the herd effect. For example, one purchase a product makes people around him or her more likely to buy the same product as well.

On the other hand, it is true that advertisements are less effective nowadays. The reason for this is that people try to escape from the overwhelming advertisements by ignoring them. Moreover, some advertisements exaggerate their products by only focusing on the positive side, which makes people feel deceived when they buy these products. As a result, people become increasingly cautious about what the advertisements say, weakening the influence of advertising. However, it is undeniable that advertising still occupies an indispensable position in modern marketing activities. Many companies still find it effective to increase turnover.

To summarize, while advertising is increasingly common and some people try to ignore it, I believe it is still very successful at persuading consumers and boosting sales, despite of the decreasing effectiveness.