Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language Discuss both these views and give your ow

It is true that globalization has been the trend of the world, with the more convenient global transport and increasingly popular international travel. Therefore, learning a foreign language is considered very important to travel or work in a foreign country. Some people argue that it is the only reason for learning foreign languages, while others disagree. In my opinion, there are many other reasons for learning foreign languages, besides traveling and work purposes.

Admittedly, learning a foreign language brings people various benefits when they are traveling or working abroad. First, knowing the native languages enables visitors to understand foreign cultures more in-dept. By communicating with the local residents and read materials written in native languages, people can gain knowledge about the local traditions that are not mentioned in the tour guides. Another benefit is that people may find it easier to get a job in foreign countries, which often requires fluency in the native language. However, traveling or working is definitely not the only reason to learn a foreign language.

On the other hand, there are many other reasons and motivations to learn foreign languages. First, for those who live in non-English speaking countries, learning foreign languages like English or French makes it possible to communicate with other people around the world online, without being abroad. This is important because numerous resources are written in English and people living in non-English speaking countries can still make use of these resources to help their work. For example, programmers around the world heavily rely on the codes shared on GitHub, which is an English technical community. In addition, learning foreign languages may also be driven by occupational demands. For example, being an interpreter requires speaking and writing both the mother tongue and a foreign language fluently. Nonetheless, people can work in jobs that required foreign languages in their own countries.

In conclusion, while traveling or working in a foreign country is a direct reason, there are still many other reasons to learn a foreign language.