Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Public health has become a major concern for various groups, organizations, governments and citizens in all over the world. While some people prefer projects such as increasing opportunities for people to exercise by providing public facilities like sport centres, other people and interested parties believe that there are more effective measures that could be taken into account to improve the general health level of the public.

It is one problems that after sport centres are built, how to get people to use it. Based on human behaviour, healthy life style depends on people’s choice, they choose to improve their health or not. It is not the case of having public facilities or not, many people doe regular exercise, for example, relaxed walking everyday or jogging in the parks that are near their house. It is their personal motivation to do these activities. Other people choose to do a little or no exercise, even though their villages, towns or cities have many public facilities which are available to them. This is also the personal choice.

Other interested organizations have suggested that education is the key element to improve public’s health. Many research groups and others who support a healthy lifestyle have spent years trying to train the public through various campaign, pointing out the negative side effect of bad habits such as drinking, smoking or fast-food and showing the ways to have a healthier life. But the results have seemed to be less impressive. In the UK, there are more young people smoking now than that in the past even though risks were warned through healthier campaigns. Governments are now putting obesity a strain on public health service which has caused by the rise of popularity of fast food and convenient food.

In conclusion, the heart of the argument lies on people’s motivation. Providing sport centres or trying to inform people through campaigns are not the most effective methods to change public behaviour.