Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The more developing the world has, the more parents worried are because they think that their children do not have enough ability to compete with other children from all over the world. Therefore, many parents let their children study many skills as early as possible. This conception has affected many educationalists and schools, as a result, many Asian primary schools carry out English learning. Parents are happy with this policy even though higher tuitions that they ask. However, from my previous experiences, most of children who started learning English from primary school did not come out with good outcomes. Thus, I consider the benefits of learning the new language at primary school does not outweigh learning after primary school.

First, learning a new foreign language at early age would not help children master two languages well, some of children would not use the mother tongue language correctly. Taking my personal experience that I witnessed in Vietnam, most of children went to kindergarten at the age of 3 or 4 and they started learning English while they had a little understanding of Vietnamese and they could not use the language freely. It is very important to understand the mother tongue, know how to use their native language which would help them understand other languages.

Second, environment plays a vital role in the way that children study foreign languages. It is commonly known that the best way to learn a new language is go to a country which speak that certain language. However, not every one has a chance to do that. For example, in Vietnam, they had opportunities to talk with English native speakers but not in 24 hours. Therefore, children at the age of 7 or 8 may forget their lessons after class. This kind of English environment would not enhance children’s ability and would not set up correct input.

In conclusion, I do believe that the disadvantages of learning English at early ages outweigh the advantages.