You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

The internet has dramatically altered our lives over the past few decades. Although some of these changes have been negative the overall effect of this technology has been positive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and give any relevant example or experience you might have to support your answer.

Write at least 250 words.

The Internet has brought exponential changes to our lives in recent years. While some people argue that it has negative impacts on our lives and society. I personally believe that it has actually turned our world a much better place. In my point of view, there are two main benefits from this technology.

First of all, it is an indisputable that the Internet has improved the way we communicate. Despite of causing social isolation- a problem resulted in people who spend too much time using Internet instead of relating to the real world. Most of us have greatly benefited from e-mail or internet chat program like i-Messenger. These incredibly useful tools of communication made it easier, cheaper and faster to contact with our loved ones and customers, suppliers in faraway places.

Second, the Internet contains a vast amount of materials which provide us with all kind of information can be access at a click of a button. In the past, researchers spent a lot of hours in library. Nowadays, however, the same information is available online, it help us save a lot of time. Admittedly, not all of the information available on the Internet is reliable and useful. Nevertheless, I feel that this free information has been beneficial to our modern life.

In conclusion, I once again restate my opinion that the Internet has positive influence in modern life because of its effectiveness on both communication and information flows.