Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is undeniable that traffic and pollution from vehicles have become controversial problems which cause extremely effect on the environment and people living standard both in the cities and on the roads every where. Talking these problem is not only the case of simply rising the price of petrol. From my point of view, I totally disagree with this opinion.

On the one hand, I think to address the pollution issue, cleaner fuels need to be developed. Nowadays, the high-technology has already available to manufacture electric cars that have many advantages such as quitter cars that use cleaner fuels such as electric or water. Convincing manufacturers and citizens adopt this new technology would be more effective solution for improving air quality and reducing the amount of emissions caused by vehicles, especially in crowded cities in all over the world where have many noise and air pollution.

On the other hand, traffic congestion also would not be solved by increasing petrol price or even changing the kind of appropriate vehicles because not everyone has a chance to alter their vehicles. However, reducing traffic congestion can be effective method by decreasing the amount of private vehicles on roads. In order to implement this method, government should have policy to encourage people choose public transport services instead of using their own cars or motorbikes. For example, if sufficient, convenient sky train or underground train are built and effectively operates, the number of vehicles on the roads would be significantly reduced.

In conclusion, I reaffirm my point of view, long-term traffic congestion and pollution reductions would not only be solved by rising petrol price. It depends on how government improve public transportation services and spend sources such as finances and human for researching alternative energy used for vehicles.