Some people say that the bicycles are a good, modern means of transportation. Other say riding a bicycle

has clear disadvantages.

Discuss both view points and give your own opinion

Many people today are taking advantage of the environmental and health benefits of using bicycles as a primary means of transportation. I am largely in agreement with this practice, despite potential safety concerns.

Critics often point out that cycling can be dangerous. This conclusion is based on numerous studies showing the fatality and serious injury rates for accidents involving bicycles are considerably higher than for most other vehicles. Even if a cyclist is wearing a helmet, the rest of their body is completely unprotected and bikes themselves do not stand up well to collisions. Added to this are the driving conditions in most major cities, where there might not be bike lanes or cars and motorbikes may not respect cyclists’ right of way. The cyclists themselves contribute to the danger if they are overconfident and try to keep up with or pass motorised vehicles.

Nonetheless, the marginally increased risks involved in cycling do not outweigh its environmental and health benefit. Bikes are a modern, clean form of transportation because they do not burn any fossil fuels or require intensive industrial production methods for their manufacturing. This is the main reason many forward-looking, environmentally-conscious cities now encourage biking to work with bike lanes and bike-sharing schemes. The second advantage is health. Cycling is great cardiovascular exercise at a time when lifestyles are becoming increasingly sedentary due to advances in consumer technology. Riding a bicycle allows the average person to get in their daily exercise efficiently on their way to work.

In conclusion, bikes may increase the odds of serious injury, but these exceptions are dwarfed by health and environmental prerogatives. Cities should therefore enact laws to help cycling flourish.