Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the world where a large proportion of population is in poor conditions and hungry for food, some argue that the utmost solution for this problem is to keep the economy growing while other individuals think that such growth causes severe environmental issues and should be ceased. In my opinion, I believe that ending poverty and hunger is enormously important and that the economy should be strongly developed.

On the one hand, there are several damages in the environment which the growth of economy brings. For instance, ozone depletion is one severe consequence of economic industrialization. This is being caused by the increase in the number of factories which emit harmful materials into the atmosphere. As a result, mankind is now facing a high risk of skin cancer by exposing directly to UV rays from the sun. In addition, deforestation for wood exploitation is a major factor of massive soil erosion and air pollution. When trees are being cut off, a wide area will not be covered and the soil will be eroded by rains in the long term. Furthermore, the earth will lose its natural air-filtering system which worsens the current air pollution caused by cars’ exhaust fumes.

However, despite the aforementioned setbacks, addressing the issue of poverty and hunger is still a priority. Thus, the task of developing the economy should definitely continue. Firstly, there is not an alternative way to tackle this world problem. Without a strong finance, governments cannot afford to support each and every citizen who is in need and therefore, slowing the overall development of the whole nation down. Secondly, ignoring such matter and stopping the economic growth can create a backfire on the environmental problems. For example, if residents are left starving for a long time, they will have to search for food and vegetables by destroying the natural jungles, which is as bad as deforestation.

In conclusion, while the growth of economy has some negative effects on the environment, this development should be kept unchanged to solve the world poverty and hunger for some essential reasons.