Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on whether we should develop the economy. While some argue that economic growth has adverse effects on our environment and should stop, I believe that economic development is indispensable under the current international situation.

It is undeniable that economic growth does have negative impacts on the environment. Natural resources are essential inputs for economic growth, while production and consumption also lead to pollution and other pressure on the environment. For example, the toxic generated and dumped into a river by a chemical industry has a serious consequence, as it would reduce the biodiversity of marine species. Additionally, increased consumption of fossil fuels can lead to the accumulation of carbon dioxide, which may contribute to global warming and more volatile weather. Moreover, deforestation resulting from economic development also caused environmental degradation.

In spite of this argument, I believe that economic growth is one of the most effective interventions against extreme poverty. For example, a booming economy creates more job opportunities for low-income workers to earn money. It is undoubtedly true that we all need adequate money to pay for necessities like clothes, food, and housing. On the other hand, with the economy becomes stronger, a large amount of funding will be invested to support public health care and education, so that the poor have access to free medical care and other welfare services.

In conclusion, although it might detrimental to environment to develop the economy, I support economic growth, as it can reduce extreme poverty and improve our life quality.