Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger however, others believe that it leads to environmental damages.

Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Many individuals argue that economic development is the answer to the increasing number of impoverished and starving people in the world. However, other people are of the opinion that the drive for economic growth have a destructive effect to the environment.

In the past decades industrialization has fueled the growth of economies of different countries.The rising number of new trades and industries opened opportunities for people to improve their standard of living. These has created jobs where people can work and have a steady income to allow them the ability to feed and provide for the family's needs.In addition, the growing economy also increases the national income of a country and will be able to support its poor citizen. The government have agricultural programs that awards the destitute people farm lands and livestock to grow for their own consumption and to generate income. For example, in India which is one of the fastest growing economy in the world, recently provided subsidized food and crops for millions of people in the country such as maize and coarse grain.

On the other hand, the success of a flourishing economy comes in the expense of the environment, one of which is environmental pollution. Industrial and manufacturing plants releases gases that causes air pollution causing various respiratory diseases. These complex also dumps waste in the bodies of water that kills marine life. Another drawback of economic growth is the destruction of the ecosystem. Many trees are cut down to be use as materials for the construction of infrastructures and houses. Some of the surviving rain forest and natural habitat are also destroyed for the expansion of cities and sites of new factories. According to an article more and more tropical forest are denuded in asia and africa because of industrialization.

In conclusion, economic growth will definitely help in solving poverty and hunger in the world by creating employments and through government initiatives. Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that economic development will be achieved even without compromising the environment through responsible use of resources and use of eco- friendly technology.