Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and should stop .Discuss bọth views and give your own opinion.

The economic growth has always been the hottest issue in our daily life. However, nowadays, whether should we continue to develop the economy or should we stop its development at all and pay closer attention to environmental problems has become a controversial issue. My view is that the economic growth is necessary for the development of our society.

Firstly, people’s basic needs, such as food, clothes and houses could be satisfied only by producing more products, in other words, developing our economy. Now everyone can buy a pair of leather boots if they need them to keep their feet warm in the winter but leather boots were very luxurious back in the early 20th century that only the rich could afford them. This is because now we can produce much more boots than we could before, and I own that to economic growth.

Moreover, as the economy develops, more and more advanced technology that aim to protect the environment have emerged. For example, electric cars, which are powered only by renewable energy, have become a new trending choice for many who wish to buy a new car. With the existence of these environmentally-friendly products, we will surely reduce our carbon emissions and manage to save the world from being drowned by the rising sea.

That is not to say that developing economy is a perfect solution for the pollution and other environmental problems that we are facing. Of course, we need to pay closer attention to those economic activities which would damage the nature, such as excessive mining and deforestation, but we could not go to extremes and give up all the economic growth.

In summary, we should put all our efforts into developing the economy and elevating people’s living standard, because that’s the only way to increase the productivity and develop technologies. Meanwhile, we need to pose restrictions to all the economic activities, such as setting standard for carbon emission, in order to make sure that we do not make destructive damage to the environment. Only by doing so can we sustain a huge population and figure out how to deal with those damages that already have been done.