Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people. Others think that it is causing the opposite effect.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the development of modern technologies has contributed significantly to economic growth and plays a more and more important role in development strategy. However, now the discussion centers on whether the technological innovations are increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. My view is that, in general, modern technology has narrowed that gap.

Firstly, the population that lives under the world poverty line is decreasing thanks to advanced technologies. For example, the hybrid rice technology created by Yuan Longping, a Chinese scientist, is now helping Africans to grow 20% more rice than they used to do. The price of food and other necessities has lowered considerably, which has leads to the significant improvement of poor people’s life standard.

Moreover, modern technologies, especially the ones that are related to the Internet, are providing abundant opportunities for people who want to start their own business. For instance, Jack Ma, now the richest man of China, started his on-line shopping company Alibaba when computers were introduced to China for the first time. A majority of the new faces that have entered the Forbes list have earned their fortune doing business related to the Internet.

However, that is not to say that the developing modern technology is the best solution for the social inequality. It is a fact that most of the advanced technologies are held by Western countries and developing countries still rely heavily on agriculture and their primary industries. Fortunately, third World countries are paying closer attention to technological innovations. For example, Huawei, a giant telecommunication company of China, is now leading the 5G revolution worldwide and making significant contributions to China’s GDP growth.

In summary, modern technology has helped to decrease the poverty and offer young generations more opportunities to make a fortune. Meanwhile, poor countries should also invest more in the technological field, just as the rich ones have done. Only by doing so, we can truly make modern technologies a motor for the economic growth and really manage to narrow the gap between the rich and the poor.