Some people think it is acceptable to use animal for the benefits of humans. Other people think it is wrong to exploit animals for human purposes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, more and more people are concerned about animal rights. Whether humans can make use of animals for our own benefits has recently caused a heated debate. In my view, it is acceptable to use animals for reasonable purposes and it is impossible to prohibit all the animal products or animal testing.

Firstly, just as big fish eat smaller ones, human beings, as the top creature in the food chain of this planet, inevitably rely on other animals. This corresponds with the natural law. Although now we have many advanced technologies that may sustain us without animal protein or clothes made of fur and leather, we cannot just turn around and accuse the natural lifestyle of human beings which always allows us to make use of animals if necessary.

Moreover, there are certain animal products that play a role so important in human society that once we have to cut them down, our life will suffer unimaginable changes. For example, if humans are not allowed to use animals, we would not be able to find single soap in the market, because it’s made of animals’ fat. Another example could be pigs’ heart valve, which is now widely use in human heart surgeries. Without pigs’ heart valves as human’s substitution, thousands of people would suffer heart diseases that could have been cured. Certain animal products are indispensable if we take human interests and happiness into consideration.

That is not to say that we could treat animals as we want. We should all condemn those people who hunt wild endangered animals just for fun, or abuse animals forcing them to complete performance in circus, because what they have done will not only hurt animals but also hurt other people’s feelings, as a huge amount of us do hold a humble view that although we humans seem to be smarter than animals, we still form a part of the nature, just like all other animals do, which means we’re even in a sense.

In summary, people could and should make use of animals, but only in necessary ways. Meanwhile, we should also pay closer attention to animal protection and animal rights, make sure no one dare to disobey animal protection laws, to abuse or even slaughter them in an unacceptable way. Only by doing so can we make this planet a better place both for animals and human beings.