Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that some people contend that history is significantly considered as an essential topic in classroom. Others, however, advocate that science and technology are more useful subjects in school. On my perspective, both opinions are equally important at some reasons.

On the one hand, it is obvious that historical lessons have allowed us to gain a better understanding of the past and can help to gain more insight into milestones of civilization. The periods of World War One and Two have been deliberately recorded in historical books to educate descendants how these disastrous and destructive events cause to mankind. Furthermore, profound learning of chronicle enables students to gain deep knowledge about not only ancient societies but also the industrial revolutions. For example, the explorer Christopher Columbus made his trips across Atlantic Ocean from Spain in late fifteenth century to discover “New World”. He was determined to find a direct water route from Europe to Asia, but he accidentally stumbled upon the Americas. His journeys marked the beginning of centuries of transatlantic conquest and colonization.

On the other hand, there is no question that the advent of modern science and technology has brought with a number of improvements to the way that society functions. Increases in scientific application help to satisfy many basic human needs and improve living standards. Therefore, the cutting-edge technology can now do the work of what have been carried out by humans, allowing greater efficiency and higher productivity output. Finding a cure for cancer and a clean form of energy are just two topical examples of science. The sources of renewable energy, such as solar and wind power, are beginning of assistance to ease the planet’s reliance on fossil fuels.

In conclusion, education in science has led to many advantages for students, but history subject alone also plays a vital role to contribute enormous knowledge. In my opinion, most students would benefit greater from a more well-rounded education, with emphasis on all disciplines, not only that of science and technology subjects.