Some people say that it is necessary to use animals for testing the medicines intended for human beings others however think it is cruel and unnecessary Discuss both views and give your opinion

Fewer scientific issues ignite heated debates like animal experimentation. Although it is beyond any doubt that animal testing has been playing a pivotal role in medicine, on the other side some people highlight the negative aspects of this practice. This essay will shed a light on this tricherous controversy and analyze the pros and cons of animal experimentation.

To begin with, it is necessary to reflect on how vastly different would be the landscape of medicine without animal experimentation. It may sound creepy, but millions of diabetics worldwide can conduct a normal life thanks to experiments carried out on dogs. In the 20th century German researchers found out that when the pancreas was removed from dogs, the animals developed symptoms of diabetes an died. That fact led to the discovery of insulin. Another dreadful disease such as poliomyelits has been wiped thanks to a vaccine previuosly tested on animals. Advances in fighting breast cancer, malaria, brain damage, multiple sclerosis would be unthinkable without animal experimentation.

But there is also a dark side. Every year millions of rats, rabbits, mice, monkeys, dogs, cats are used in laboratories all around the world. In too many cases, animals are tortured, kept in cages,deprived of food, forced to inhalle toxic compunds to test food, drugs, and cosmetics. Before death, some of them have holes drilled into their skulls, their skin is burned off or have their spinal chord crushed. It is no understatment to say that in some cases experimentation turns into sheer torture with no benefits for mankind at all.

It is one thing to sacrifice animals trying to find vaccines for deadly diseases. Treating animals like nothing more than dispodable laboratory equipment is quite another.

Over the last years technology has moved forwards so that there is less and less need for animal testing. Cutting-edge non-animal methods are now available and have been shown to be more accurate than crude animal experiments. For example human genes cloned into microorganisms can yeld more reliable results than introducing toxins into animals. In addition to that,the deployment of human volunteers and sophisticated computational methods seem to gain a foothold in the field of medical research as well.

In conclusion, while medical research cannot be adequately done without animals, commercial safety testing, such as by cosmetic companies, should be carried out without using animals.