In the past people like to store knowledge in books However in the present we prefer to store knowledge on the internet Do you think the advantages overweight the disadvantages

Storing the key that has allowed mankind to protect and transmit its scientific, artistic, and historical heritage. Having the possibility to recall information from the past, humans can learn from it to open new horizon of knowledge. Over the last decades, however, the way data are stored has changed as well as several other aspects. If in the past, books represented practically the only tool to save information, these days people are more willingly to rely on digital technologies when it comes to storing data. This essay will weigh the pros and cons of those two methods and explain why digital storing is actually a valid alternative to paper.

Conversely to other animal species, humans possess the unique skill to keep track of what they do. This ability has been an edge over competitors, since humans are able to learn from their own past to improve their living conditions and build a brighter future. For our ancestors just as necessary as finding solutions to survive in tough times was the having the possibility to store precious information they could draw on quickly in case of necessity. Laws, medical treatments, inventions, found so a safe home in books, which have been playing a shaping role in human history for thousands of years. Several reasons speak for this success. Simplicity, first of all. Books are easy to produce and to use as well. Moreover they provide a quick access to their content as they do not need encryption codes, passwords or power.

Nevertheless, technology has brought outstanding tools individuals can profit from. Considered as one of he most relevant breakthrough of the last century, the Internet has revolutionized the way we live. Beside being an infinite mine of resources, the Internet offers the opportunity to save data and information user can rapidly access. Web companies like Google, Yahoo! make available digital clouds Internet users can use to upload photos, documents, worksheets, and a myriad of other files. Although this way can appear a complicated process, since it requires computers, electrical power, and an Internet connection, it is actually a reliable opportunity to store information. The silver lining of relying on digital solutions, is basically that data are not vulnerable to deterioration contrary to paper. Additionally, digital alternatives are environmentally friendly in the light of the fact that writing and drawing do not consume ink or paper. Despite the numerous threats Internet users face daily, like malwares and viruses, there are simple rules that allow to surf the web safely. For instance, it is essential to choose complex and strong passwords, to purchase only from secure sites, and practice safe browsing. The cyber world is scattered with hard-to-see pitfalls, where one careless click can expose personal data or infect the device with malware.

To conclude, in spite of the potential risks users can come across by surfing the Internet, choosing digital space to save data represents a valid alternative to paper. The Internet offers free space where users can upload files and share them with peers and friends. Mostly granted for free, these clouds have also the advantage of being accessible from everywhere.