Many elderly people are no long er looked after by their families but are put in care home or nursing home What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

Population aging is probably the most difficult challenge society will have to face in the foreseeable future. The costs related to treatments, drugs, and examinations can be unbearable for many families, who are in no shape to shoulder those expense. It is no surprise, therefore, that many families rely on facilities that take after their relatives. Few subjects ignite more heated debated in the public than health care especially when it comes to elderly people. Whether the family or nursing homes should take care of seniors, is still up for debate. The aim of this essay is to weigh the pros and cons of two divergent ways to tackle this issue.

Elderly people are those who most suffer from isolation. While young and middle-aged adults tend to cluster at offices and work sites, seniors are alone at home or in retirement facilities. Bolstered by several surveys, research have shown that there are huge benefits to generational interaction. Bringing older and younger generations together can nurture mutual understanding. Moreover, it is a powerful way to learn from each other. Seniors are full of precious advice, young can leverage to conduct a fruitful life. Additionally, healthy elderly people are still full of resources and can supersede parents by taking care of children.

Conversely to the benefits mentioned above, the backsides of the old age should also taken into account. Despite the technological advancement which has drastically improved the outcomes of medical treatments, old people suffer from several diseases, from cardiovascular problems to mental illnesses. Some of those diseases are chronic and sometimes lethal. so that the persons affected from them need inevitably continuous medical assistance only professional figures can provide. Sadly, nursing home remains for many families the only way to ensure the necessary treatments for an old relative. Nursing homes are generally expensive, if not prohibitive, so that only well-off families can afford to pay the expense.

In conclusion, taking care of elderly people remains a delicate issue with numerous factors playing a role. Families should take after their old relatives as long as the health conditions are good and stable. In this case, the benefits are immense, since the interaction between younger and older generations bring benefits to both of them. It occurs, however, sometimes that the clinical conditions of an old individual are so bad that a nursing home represents the only reasonable solution to guarantee safety and medical treatments when needed.