Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree

Clothes are an essential component of our lives. Some individuals believe that by observing the selection of attire, one’s cultural background and individual characteristics can be predicted. I completely agree with this opinion. In this essay, I will be discussing the relation of dressing sense with culture and personality, to support my point of view.

To begin with, there is a characteristic influence of culture over the type of dresses, someone prefers to wear. This association between culture and clothes can be explained as, it may be due to the climatic condition, in which the given civilization and its culture flourishing. For example, people living in the middle east prefer to wear conservative dress, as it is suitable for the warm and dry climate of this region. However, due to the global outreach of fashion trends, this geographical distinction is fading away.

Furthermore, the choice of clothes also reflects a person’s character. For instance, people, who prefer to wear bright colored clothes are usually found to be extrovert and dynamic in nature. An individual may wear something under an influence, which might not be suitable for his/her character, however, neither he/she will feel comfortable wearing it, nor be able to carry it out for long. Besides that, clothes are also directed according to the profession. For example, professionals like doctors usually wear more formal clothes, whereas, celebrities prefer to wear something, that might enable them to stand out in the crowd.

To conclude, in my opinion, I firmly believe that, to know someone’s character and cultural background, it is important to observe his/her dressing sense.