Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals Others say that there are more important environmental problems Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is often argued that the extinction of flora and fauna is the most important environmental issue, whilst others disagree and think that there are more serious environmental matters. The main problem, in my opinion, is related to other issues such as the change of climate conditions that need to be meticulously addressed.

On the one hand, there are several reasons behind the loss of biodiversity. Firstly, because certain types of animals are used for research purposes in laboratories, there has a considerable reduction in their numbers. Secondly, human beings are expanding urban areas and constructing factories by leaving a tiny part of lands for plants to grow and, consequently, those plants are dying out. As a result, this loss of vegetation and animals is leading to various challenges for people since their lives are interdependent on lives of other living beings. To illustrate, trees and flowers usually provide clean and fresh atmosphere for humans to reside, and if they disappear, people may lose one of the most important sources of their oxygen and pure environment.

On the other hand, the opponents of this view think that other issues, such as climate change, are of paramount importance. In other words, solving the problem related animals and plants is more realistic and requires the attention of humans, while the problems related to climate is hard to tackle and need several decades. For instance, according to researchers from the university of Oxford, they have been studying this matter over decades, yet they have not been able to find the solutions and it is likely to require another century to fully understand it. In fact, many people and industries around the world have been suffering from changing weather conditions for several years.

In conclusion, although the loss of particular species of plants and animals is one of the dominant issues, other environmental problems are more prevalent and need a careful investigation. I tend to believe that climate related matters are serious enough to put much efforts on them.