some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other says that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether the extinction of certain plants and animals is the major problem associated with environment or whether there are other environmental problems that deserve more notice. While I understand why some people consider the loss of specific creatures as the most essential problem, I am still in favor of the latter view.

It is understandable why people believe that the sharp reduce in several species is the biggest environmental issue to be concerned. From their point of view, the number of species in recent years has dropped a great deal which can give rise to unbalanced ecosystem. This situation can be the result of overexploitation of natural resources. In other words, many illegal hunts are conducted throughout the year, which makes plenty of animals on the verge of extinction. In addition, devastating forests to make room for residential areas destroys a number of natural habitats. Not only does this action result in the loss of shelters of many species but also the disappearance of various plants.

Nevertheless, I still side with those who believe that there are more important problems related to environment needed to be care about. To put it in a simple way, such problems that cause detrimental effects to people’s health should be in top priority. One illustration for this is the degradation of air quality in recent years. If people inhale such polluted air, they have a higher risk of suffering from respiratory diseases such as lung cancer. Moreover, the ozone layer whose purpose is to deter ultraviolet rays from entering the atmosphere has been destroyed gradually. This explains for the increase in the number of patients who face skin cancer as they expose to the harmful rays in a regular basis.

In conclusion, despite acknowledging why some people hold the belief that the most remarkable environmental problem is associated with the loss of particular animals and plants, I am of the opinion that other issues that directly affect human’s health is more prominent.