Some people say that men are naturally more competitive than women.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some hold the stereotypical belief that females appear less competitive by nature than males. Although this notion seems to have certain rationality, I am inclined to argue that both sexes can be equally naturally dominant.

On one side of the argument, some people believe men naturally hold more power than women. Initially cited to back this dominance up is evolution. In primitive societies, where humans lived harmonically with fairness and equality, men primarily took responsibility as hunters, while most women were willingly in charge of the gathering. In other words, males tended to be pugnacious, and females grew to be nurturing, proving that men have been more competitive than women since early times. In addition, as a potent foundation for this dominance, the patriarchal system formed and had centuries of global coverage, even virtually eliminating matriarchal society. As a result, women tended to be demanded to take a back seat, which still exists in today's times. For instance, in some low-intellectualized regions, if a woman is openly ambitious, her actions might still receive little respect.

Nevertheless, I do not think these arguments mentioned stand up to scrutiny since I am of the opinion that males and females, in essence, can be equally competitive. Most importantly, it might be because modern society has witnessed modern women rapidly progressing in their professions and personal lives. In detail, thanks to the fights for women's equal rights, more females have obtained higher education and more work opportunities. Many can even become billionaires with net resources as high as their male counterparts, generally improving the authority of women. Furthermore, a growing number of men, by contrast, are ready to be stay-at-home househusbands and responsible for domestic duties to support their wives to be externally employed. This development can encourage women to pursue their ambitions, letting them show their competitive facet to fulfil their lives.

In conclusion, although the idea that males are naturally more competitive than females can be true to a certain extent, I would state both genders can be equally driven as men to hold dominance.